h1

I Can Only Imagine

December 22, 2006


» YouTube It!
By: MercyMe
» Listen


I can only imagine
What it will be like
When I walk
By your side

I can only imagine
What my eyes will see
When your face
Is before me
I can only imagine

Surrounded by Your glory, what will my heart feel
Will I dance for you Jesus or in awe of you be still
Will I stand in your presence or to my knees will I fall
Will I sing hallelujah, will I be able to speak at all
I can only imagine

I can only imagine
When that day comes
And I find myself
Standing in the Son

I can only imagine
When all I will do
Is forever
Forever worship You
I can only imagine

Surrounded by Your glory, what will my heart feel
Will I dance for you Jesus or in awe of you be still
Will I stand in your presence or to my knees will I fall
Will I sing hallelujah, will I be able to speak at all
I can only imagine

I can only imagine
I can only imagine

I can only imagine
When all I will do
Is forever, forever worship you

-I Can Only Imgaine, by MercyMe

4 comments

  1. The main fault with this song is it is so short… The thought of eternity, heaven, and being with the Lord forever makes me cry almost every time I actually contemplate it. Songs like “I can only imagine” are wonderful for bringing me into that place. But… they could have added like three times as much to the song…


  2. The problem with what you are saying is that in a lot of christian songs they talk about God, which is great than what heaven is going to be like. So by using your logic, all those songs should be four times as long in expounding on how awesome He is, how amazing it will be at His feet, and how often when should thank Him


  3. That wouldn’t hurt me a bit. At my church sometimes we sing the same song for 10 minutes, relishing in just a infinitely small piece of God.

    When describing eternity, one can never say too much. =)


  4. God *is* eternal though, to talk about a small piece of Him would be limiting, if that’s what you mean by singing about eternity. There’s a reason it’s called…eternity, to explain it to the best of *our* abilities is impossible, I can really only imagine.



Leave a Reply

