h1

The Epigone

December 23, 2006

The light side, the dark side. When Star Wars came out there had never been such a movie that so plainly showed the difference between good and evil. A lot of times we can get mixed up with neutrality, toying with the life-style that we can have both to a certain extent. The truth of the matter is we cannot.

He who is not with me is against me, and he who does not gather with me, scatters.
-Luke 11:23

That is so…true. I was working one day and I said a “your mom” joke to bobby and he didn’t reply. Intrigued I mocked “you don’t even have a come back” and he shut me down with “heh, God says He will judge us for *every* idle word.”

I knew it was true and it not only shut me up but help me realize by making fun of my friend, I have been putting more on my heart and what I will be judged on when I reach home. Every idle word. By doing that I was going against God’s best for me and bobby. God wants me to be perfect, to be for him, not thinking that “I just said one thing, I’m still for him” when that action was totally against him.

Christ is perfect and He calls us to be Christ like. Not Christ…but Christ like. “Well that’s impossible”, no….heh it’s not. Phil 4:13 says “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

Don’t let Satan trick you into thinking that you can never reach what God calls us to be. It’s almost a mind trick you have to play with yourself.
Just as when we say “yea I’m an alcoholic” we continue being it and struggling with it. We can use that mentality for how God really wanted us to use it, in a positive way. The devil only took that mentality and messed with it, it’s really God’s.
“I’m no longer an alcoholic because Christ says I am free of that and I can be perfect”. When we start having that mentality we start acting like that and soon it becomes habit and we are now no longer alcoholics.
When we start having the mentality that Christ wants us to be *like* Him, we start acting on it and will sin less because of our mentality for Christ now, perfection now.

I choose Him, cause I ain’t against Him. I choose perfection, which is His plan.

4 comments

  1. That’s kinda a hodgepodge post.
    But it makes a whole lot of good points!


  2. Nigel is amazing! He says that he isn’t as articulate as other people, but the truth and honesty that is in his posts is refreshing and enlightening. Kudos to Nigel for a great post.


  3. From Nigel’s post: “When we start having the mentality that Christ wants us to be *like* Him, we start acting on it and will sin less because of our mentality for Christ now, perfection now.”

    How about this: “But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not carry out the desire of the flesh.” (Galatians 5:16)

    And: “… we will bear the likeness of the man from heaven.” (1 Cor 15:49)

    And, finally, this: “Very often, the only way to get a quality is to start behaving as if you had it already” (C.S. Lewis, Mere Christianity).

    Good stuff, Nigel.


  4. when he gets around to updating, nigel has the potential to post some incredible stuff. this update is one of my favorites.
    rock on nigel.



Leave a Reply

