h1

Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

April 28, 2007

50 billion atoms make 1 simple cell. I contain 75 trillion of these “simple” cells. 75 trillion! Every 4-5 seconds 50,000 of my cells die and are replaced by 50,000 new cells. My body contains 25 trillion red blood cells. They live 120 days. My body also contains 25 billion white blood cells. They live 12 hours. That means my body is making 50 billion white blood cells every single day. This is incredible to me. These red and white blood cells flow through my circulatory system. There are 75,000 miles of arteries, blood vessels, and capillaries in my body, (enough the circle the earth 3 times!) all forming my circulatory system.

I will take 10 million breaths this year. My lungs are all folded up inside of me to function properly, but if unfolded, my lungs would cover an area the size of a tennis court.

All of this is made up of DNA, my genetic code. This DNA is inside of every single cell inside my body. This tiny little strand, in each of my 75 trillion cells, is 6 feet long. So that’s 75 trillion cells x 6 feet of DNA per cell. That’s enough DNA, if you connected it in one continuous strand, to travel to the moon and back 20,000 times. This DNA, this genetic code, decoded by scientists, contains these nucleotide building blocks made up of a combination of adenine (A), thymine (T), guanine (G) and cytosine (C). These A T G C codes form random sequences whose characters accumulate to 3 billion+ characters (that’s per strand). 3 billion+ characters are in each strand of DNA, and each DNA strand is in every single one of my 75,000,000,000,000 cells.

I am fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139:14). For me, this is proof. When I say “I know there is a God” instead of “I believe there is a God,” this is a huge part why. And to credit all this to chance or a big bang or anything other than God, for me, is just out of the question.

//Bring it World
-Brian Purkiss


Facts gathered from Louie Giglio’s talk “Fearfully and Wonderfully Made” – which can be found here.

4 comments

  1. Just awesome.


  2. No brian you wrong…..all that detail…..it was just an…..well, an…..you know an….accident???
    great post man, our God is an awesome God.


  3. Nice


  4. Wow, that’s unbelievable, man! Thanks for posting that.
    It goes to show how crazy the whole evolution “Theory” really is….it still wonder why it’s being taught in schools.



Leave a Reply

